AJ Davenport – a portrait

IMG_0386

Recently I was able to visit this painting I did of my friend AJ Davenport. It’s at her place and I was there for a party. I remember the day we got together – I was in my old Victorian which I have since had to leave many years ago now – We drank wine and took pictures. She collects vintage hats and we took lots of pictures of various hats and poses. This for me was the winner. I made up the colors of the wall and sofa. My roommate said it reminded him of Hopper – the loneliness and colors. This is a painting of a dear friend and probably me at my best in oil.

One comment

  1. It was such a joy to sit for you. I’m so glad to have this memory hanging in my home. I remember the day we did the photos for you to work from. Grant is right it has a certain Hopper quality. You are a true renaissance man and I feel blessed to have you in my life.


Leave a Reply

