Obsession.

I’m currently working on two submissions for calls for art. I’ve gotten three rejection letters so far this year, but included in a printed catalogue with one. I was talking with a woman at the studio who’s a decent painter – she said “congratulations on submitting” – she had just missed a call for art because she couldn’t bring herself to do it.
I keep putting it out there, I don’t know what else to do. So yes, I am obsessed.
I found these quotes today in my notes from years ago and a sketch of mine that I had forgotten about. Somehow these things together made sense to me.

“Obsession is the big thing. You have to be obsessed with what you’re doing. Totally untalented people don’t have an obsession. I think that if you live for it, then sooner or later, you must find a reward.” – Helmut Newton, Interview Magazine

“We shall work on until our death throes: what else is there to do, except perhaps get drunk, when the moment comes at which reality has ceased to measure up to one’s dreams.” – Delacroix
IMG_1064
Leave a Reply

