Too Homoerotic? Really.

So I was in a show at the Lottie Rose Gallery. This is a great group of people with Firehouse Art Co. – the people that run my studio. The weird thing – when I sent pictures of my work – I said we can do this G-rated or I can show the gay stuff. I was told by the girl running the show that I should show what I want. So the way it worked out I showed both. The G-rated stuff was a collage and a photo from bars in SF. If I’m about anything – it’s sex and bars. I thought this represented me.

I have not shown photos I have taken. This was the first time showing photos and digital collages that I mostly do for myself.

I really had no idea she worked with children that wanted to come to the show and because of my work she told them no. So for me this work is quite tame and I guess it’s just homoerotic enough to scare children. I have dirty stuff and I’m the guy that gives too much – so dirty – I got it – but that was not what I was putting out this time.

I just thought the idea of seeing a dick in this day and age was too scary for people – just kinda ridiculous. I don’t want children at my shows. I don’t want to explain things. But to be singled out as the thing that keeps them away was weird to me. I know hardcore people and I know their work – this stuff is tame. The other artists liked my work and had no issues with it.

All that being said – I’m proud of this work. The people that get it tell me to do more.

IMG_0854

IMG_0861

SF-ulrich

mudflap-ulrich

14-ulrich

IMG_0860

Leave a Reply

