I think I’m turning Japanese

Trying to do some abstract art that works into my series for my show. This one today flowed out of me – to me it looks Japanese. I don’t really know what this is all about. The first one I did reminded me of Japanese pottery. Now this one. I’m usually a figurative painter in a more realistic style. This project called for some abstracts – I didn’t think it would be that hard. Now I find myself somewhere I never thought I would be. Thing is I like them – have I unleashed my inner Asian painter? You have to see it in person and see the textures – the photo doesn’t do it justice. I checked out Sumi-e painting online – the art of a brushstroke. I got close without even knowing what I was doing.

japanese1

Leave a Reply

