Grandeur

8:10 33 bus from studio. 8:53 Geary bus to 34th. 9:06 walk/coffee/walk. 9:30 Legion of Honor opens.

Royal Treasures from the Louvre: Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette

The French decorative arts are amazing. I was stunned by some painted doors saved from the Tuileries. At the end of the show is a small room with a few of Marie-Antoinette’s furnishings. I was captivated by a small Sevres porcelain bust of Marie-Antoinette from 1782. As I was standing there drawing her, she came to life to life for me on the page. I left wanting more.

marie

Leave a Reply

